top of page
Search
  • emilybean2424

The Last 12 Days


I spent my almost last 2 weeks in Brussels. 12 days to be exact. June 1st to the 12th. A lot of it was spent doing a lot of "lasts". Last time attending happy hour at Ebrius. Last time going to the city center to see the Grand Place. Last time taking the tram. Last time getting a Belgian waffle and chocolate. Last time seeing some friends. It was all very bittersweet.


But! It was also such a fun last 2 weeks. There was a whole weekend where it was actually nice for once (I'm talking like 85 degrees Fahrenheit with no clouds/rain in sight!). In that one nice weekend, some friends and I did a bar crawl around Ixelles, which is the neighborhood I lived in. Before that, we made dinner together at Hanne's apartment together. I got a tattoo (!!!!) to remember my time here and all the growth I've done in the last year. I finally had the chance to see the Atomium, which is a statue of big balls connected together. I was actually able to wear shorts and a dress in Brussels! I took advantage of the sunshine and went on a run around the city. That one weekend is one of my favorite times from the whole semester.


Besides that one weekend, the weather went back to being rainy and chilly or slightly bipolar with maybe the occasional cold sunshine. But my friends and I went out almost every night because someone was leaving or going to leave soon. We began spending a lot more time in Ixelles, going to stores, restaurants, and bars nearby. There's two tram/bus stop that became quite popular among us these last couple of weeks - Flagey and I think Rogier. Definitely some cool places to check out!!! Flagey was one stop over from me, or a 10 minute walk from my apartment near the stop Stade. And I began taking my camera everywhere with me, as I wanted to document every little person and place we went to these last few weeks.


It was always so sad saying goodbye to people. Because even if I see any of them again, it will never be the same. Life is sorta strange that way. But it's so cool that I have friends from all over the world - Germany, Denmark, France, Norway, Russia, Canada, Hong Kong, etc. Also kinda wild to think about!


Here's some pictures from my last two weeks. Check out the rest here.




32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

HOME

bottom of page